Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winch

Okay so again I'm looking for advice... I got a 1997 jeep wrangler sport and I was wondering what kind of winch I need. I'm new to the jeep and I love it always wanted one and now I want to slowly make it in to a beast. I'm looking at winches and they range from anywhere to 8000lbs to 12000lbs I was wondering if I could get 8000lbs one because they can range from $280-$310 and then if you go up they get to the $500 dollar range I was hoping 8000lbs would be okay if not could someone let me know. Like I said I want it to be badass but I also don't want to go to crazy with money on my first jeep.

I know nothing of the jeep world only that i love it so far so any help would be awesome.

Yes, 8000lb is good enough for a TJ. More would be nice, but 8000 is sufficient for most things. Lots of folks use 8000lb winches on TJs.

It's more work, but if you need more pulling power, you can use a snatch block and double up the line.
    [COLOR="#FF0000"]R[/COLOR]edneck [COLOR="#FF0000"]D[/COLOR]riveway [COLOR="#FF0000"]F[/COLOR]ab
    www.DanielBuck.net - www.DNSFAIL.com - www.FurnitureByBuck.com

Comment

okay thanks

Originally posted by daniel_buck View Post
      Yes, 8000lb is good enough for a TJ. More would be nice, but 8000 is sufficient for most things. Lots of folks use 8000lb winches on TJs.

It's more work, but if you need more pulling power, you can use a snatch block and double up the line.

okay thanks at what lbs do i not worry about anything i really wont go up to 12000lbs but should i spend the extra money to get a 9000 or 10000lbs?

Comment

difficult decision, maybe others can chime in.