Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPS unit of preference

I am kind of new to GPS and I bought a Maegellan Crossover. It is neat because it gives typical road information and hiking trail information, which i figure would be handy for jeep trails. I have not been able to confirm its handiness on a full trail, but I do seem to notice that I may not have the best unit for converting GPS info into something usable on the desktop pc.
    I noticed that some of the posts in here look like GPS points from the trail were superimposed on a SBNF map. Not sure if that is a software or a line drawn with the mouse.
    What GPS units do you all use?

For example, if i were to dl one of the .gpx files, i am not sure my device would utilize it effectively. I may need to do more research and investigation of the desktop software it comes with.
    Last edited by jeep-noob; 09-18-07, 04:03 PM.
    2000 XJ, 108k miles
    33's, RE 4.5", 4.56

Originally posted by jeep-noob View Post
    I am kind of new to GPS and I bought a Maegellan Crossover. It is neat because it gives typical road information and hiking trail information, which i figure would be handy for jeep trails. I have not been able to confirm its handiness on a full trail, but I do seem to notice that I may not have the best unit for converting GPS info into something usable on the desktop pc.
    I noticed that some of the posts in here look like GPS points from the trail were superimposed on a SBNF map. Not sure if that is a software or a line drawn with the mouse.

For example, if i were to dl one of the .gpx files, i am not sure my device would utilize it effectively. I may need to do more research and investigation of the desktop software it comes with.

Wow . . . I was thinking about getting GPS but this sounds way too complicated . . . guess I'll just keep adding armor . . . nuts/bolts/steel . . . much simpler!!!:bonk: